Connacht Athletics Awards

Connacht Athletics legends to be immortalised with Awards named in their honour

The Connacht Athletics Council has approved the creation of a number of awards to honour and recognize the great and the good of Connacht Athletics starting in 2021.

The awards will be presented virtually on a zoom call at an end of the year celebration and the ceremony uploaded onto YouTube for all the see and be part of.

The following categories of awards are proposed:
• Connacht Athlete of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht U20 Athlete of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht U18 Athlete of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht Road Runner of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht Cross Country Runner of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht Master Athlete of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht Coach of the Year (M&F)
• Connacht Club of the Year
• Best Connacht Athletics Club Social Media Account
• Best Connacht Athletics Photograph
• Best Connacht Athletics News story
Connacht Athletics Hall of Fame for distinguished services to Connacht Athletics

Furthermore, a special award has been created to honour the memory of Fr. Kevin Ryle (Former Chair & Secretary of the Connacht Council and President of BLE and Irish Schools Athletics Association) for the Connacht Official of the Year

In addition, the following prestigious awards are proposed for the best Connacht Athletes in the different disciplines:

Paul Hession Medal to Connacht sprinter of the Year
Mary Cullen Medal to the Connacht Distance Athlete of the Year
Billy Glynn Medal to the Connacht Jumper of the Year
Martin Sheridan Medal to Connacht Thrower of the Year
Olive Loughnane Medal to Connacht Race Walker of the Year
Mary Barrett Medal to the Connacht multi-eventer of the Year

Athenry’s Paul Hession was 9th in the Olympic 200m in Beijing 2008 and is a two-time World University medallist. North Sligo’s Mary Cullen was 3rd in the European Indoor 3000m in 2009. Tuam’s Billy Glynn is a former Irish Schools and U20 sprint & Long Jump Champion, and the son of a former Irish Schools Long Jump champion who achieved the top office in Irish Rugby when he was elected President of the Irish Football Rugby Union in 2012. Mayo’s Martin Sheridan won three Olympic Gold medals at the 1904 & 1908 Olympics in Discus and Greek Discus. Loughrea’s Olive Loughnane is the 2009 World 20km Walk Champion and coached her sister Ann to a World Youth’s medal. Loughrea’s Mary Barret as a former Irish senior international athlete who still holds the Connacht Heptathlon record and is a multiple international medal winning Masters athlete and Vice Chair of the Connacht Council.

Details on how the winners will be chosen has been agreed and will be announced when the season finishes…